SSN on Facebook SSN on Twitter SSN on YouTube RSS Feed



Meet Ron DeSantis' Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development

December 6, 2018 - 4:30pm

Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis and Lt. Gov.-elect Jeanette Nuñez announced Thursday the names of more than 40 advisors who will serve on the Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development. That body will be co-chaired by state Board of Education Chair Marva Johnson and University of Florida Board of Trustees member Mori Hosseini.

The committee is comprised of a diverse group of education experts, including traditional K-12 public school system leaders, education advocates, elected school board members, academics and current and former leaders of Florida’s higher education system.

These individuals will advise the Transition Team as they develop a plan to implement DeSantis’ vision of ensuring that every student in Florida has the chance to get a world-class education and develop the skills they need to get a great job and pursue their dream.

Members of the Transition Advisory Committee on Education and Workforce Development include the following:

  • ELIZABETH M. BÉJAR; Vice President for Academic Affairs, Florida International University
  • DESMOND BLACKBURN; CEO, New Teacher Center
  • EMILY BOUCK; Policy & Advocacy Director, Higher Learning Advocates
  • The Honorable BOB CORTES; Former Representative, Florida House of Representatives
  • BRENDA DICKINSON; President, Home Education Foundation
  • The Honorable ERIKA DONALDS; Former Board Member, Collier County School Board
  • AUBREY EDGE; President & CEO, First Coast Energy
  • T. WILLARD FAIR; President & CEO, Urban League of Greater Miami
  • ANGELA GARCIA FALCONETTI; President, Polk State College
  • ALVIN S. FELZENBERG; Presidential Historian & Lecturer, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania
  • BRUCE FERGUSON; President & CEO, CareerSource Northeast Florida
  • KEITH FLAUGH; Managing Director, Florida Citizens Alliance
  • The Honorable DON GAETZ; Former President, Florida Senate
  • ROBERT HAAG; President & CEO, Florida Consortium of Public Charter Schools
  • JONATHAN HAGE; CEO, Charter Schools USA
  • GREG HAILE; President, Broward College
  • BILL HEAVENER; Chairman, University of Florida Board of Trustees
  • WARREN HUDSON; President, Lake Highland Preparatory School
  • RUSSELL HUGHES; Superintendent, Walton County School District
  • ALLAN I. JACOB; Chairman & Chief Medical Officer, Physicians Dialysis
  • MIMI JANKOVITS; Executive Director, Teach Florida
  • JOHN KIRTLEY; Founder and Chairman, Step Up for Students
  • EUGENE LAMB; Board of Trustees, Tallahassee Community College
  • CRAIG MATEER; Founder & CEO, Bags, Inc.
  • KIM MCDOUGAL; Former Chief of Staff, Governor Rick Scott and Education Policy Expert
  • EDWARD MEADOWS; President, Pensacola State College
  • CONNIE MILITO; Chief Government Relations Officer, Hillsborough County Public Schools
  • KELI MONDELLO; Co-Founder & Board Chairman, LiFT Academy
  • STEVE MOORE; President, The Vestcor Companies, Inc.
  • ED MOORE; President, Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida
  • The Honorable LUBBY NAVARRO; School Board Member, Miami-Dade County
  • LYNN NORMAN-TECK; Executive Director, Florida Charter School Alliance
  • MADELINE PUMARIEGA; Former Chancellor, Florida College System
  • RANDLE RICHARDSON; CEO, Accelerated Learning Solutions
  • LYN STANFIELD; Strategic Relations Manager, Apple
  • The Rev. RICK STEVENS; Managing Director, Florida Citizens Alliance
  • The Honorable JOHN THRASHER; President, Florida State University
  • ANDY TUCK; Vice Chairman, Florida State Board of Education
  • FERNANDO ZULUETA; President, Academica Corporation

Comments are now closed.

Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.