SSN on Facebook SSN on Twitter SSN on YouTube RSS Feed



DeSantis Introduces Transition Advisory Committee on Health and Wellness

December 7, 2018 - 6:15pm
Alan Levine
Alan Levine

Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis and Lt. Gov.-elect Jeanette Nuñez announced Friday the names of more than 50 advisors who will serve on the Transition Advisory Committee on Health and Wellness. The committee will be chaired by Nuñez and co-chaired by Alan Levine, former secretary of Florida's Agency for Health Care Administration.

The committee is comprised of a diverse group of health care experts from a variety of different medical fields, as well as health care providers, addiction counselors and mental health professionals, in addition to current and former leaders of Florida’s health care system.

These individuals will advise the Transition Team as they develop their plan to implement DeSantis’ vision of empowering patients and expanding provider reach, fighting addiction and mental health problems and protecting Florida’s most vulnerable populations while lowering costs and respecting taxpayers’ money.

Members of the Transition Advisory Committee on Health and Wellness include the following:

  • Dr. MICHAEL ALESSANDRI; Executive Director for Autism and Related Diseases
  • MARIA ALONSO; COO, Citrus Health Network
  • BRYAN ANDERSON; VP of Government Affairs, HCA  Healthcare 
  • Dr. JOSE 'PEPE' ARMAS; Founder, Chairman & CEO, MCCI Medical Group   
  • GABRIELLE BARGERSTOCK; Florida Executive Director, Nurse-Family Partnership   
  • ANN BARNHART; CEO, Heart of Florida Regional Medical Center   
  • JASON BARRETT; CEO, Flagler Hospital   
  • Dr. SAMIRA BECKWITH; President & CEO, Hope Healthcare   
  • ABIGAIL BEEBE; Chair, Executive Council of The Florida Bar Family Law Section   
  • CHARLES BENDER; Founding CEO & Board Member, Place of Hope   
  • THAD BESHEARS; Co-Owner & COO, Simpson Nurseries   
  • Dr. ANDY BOROM; Orthopedic Surgeon, Tallahassee Orthopedic Clinic   
  • TARREN BRAGDON; President & CEO, Foundation for Government Accountability   
  • The Honorable JASON BRODEUR; former Chairman, Florida House of Representatives Health and Human Services Committee   
  • AUDREY BROWN; President & CEO, Florida Association of Health Plans   
  • NANCY BRYAN; President & CEO, BioFlorida   
  • Dr. CHRISTOPHER CARD; Chief of Community-Based Care, Eckerd Connects   
  • GLEN CASEL; CEO, Community Based Care of Central Florida   
  • GLEN FEINGOLD; Executive Vice President & COO, MCNA Dental   
  • AURELIO FERNANDEZ; President & CEO, Memorial Healthcare System   
  • Dr. EDWARD FIDALGO; OB/GYN, South Miami Hospital and Mercy Hospital   
  • The Honorable RENÉ GARCÍA; Executive Vice President, New Century Partnership   
  • Dr. VIKRAM GOPAL; Physician, Borland Groover   
  • JIM HILL; President, Florida Juvenile Justice Association     
  • NELSON HINCAPIE; President & CEO, Voices for Children Foundation   
  • ROY H HINMAN II, M.D., Colonel, US Army (Ret.)
  • SCOTT HOWELL; Vice President of Internal & External Affairs, Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence   
  • ROSLIND HUDSON; Divisional Vice President, Behavioral Health Division, Universal Health Services   
  • CHRIS JACOBS; Founder & CEO, Juniper Research Group    
  • EDWARD JIMENEZ; CEO, University of Florida Health Shands   
  • Dr. STEVEN JOHNSON; President & CEO, Health First   
  • KURT KELLY; CEO, Florida Coalition for Children   
  • Dr. DAVID KENIGSBERG; President, Broward County Medical Association   
  • Dr. NARENDRA KINI; CEO, Nicklaus Children's Health System   
  • NICOLE de LARA PUENTE; CEO, Live Like Bella Childhood Cancer Foundation   
  • Dr. KEN LAWSON; Owner & Optometrist, Bayshore Eye Care   
  • BEN LEON; CEO, Leon Medical Centers   
  • REBECCA MATTHEWS; CEO, Florida Healthy Kids   
  • DAVID R. MAYMON; Founder, Advocate Home Care   
  • GRACI McGILLICUDDY; Chair, Board of Directors, All Star Children's Foundation   
  • CARLOS MIGOYA; President & CEO, Jackson Health System
  • JOSEPH MITCHELL; CEO, Summit Care and Member, American Health Care Association Board of Governors
  • JOE MULLANY; Regional President & CEO, Bayfront Health
  • DEB OBERMAN; Vice President Public Affairs, Humana   
  • Dr. EDUARDO OTERO; Regional Vice President, South Region, Florida Market, MEDNAX Pediatrix Medical Group   
  • Dr. JASON PIROZZOLO; Director of Sports Medicine and Trauma, Orlando Hand Surgery Associates   
  • Dr. JIM RUBENSTEIN; Co-Founder & Radiation Oncologist, 21st Century Oncology   
  • SUZANNE SEWELL; President & CEO, Florida Association of Rehabilitation Facilities   
  • Dr. DAVID SHAPIRO; Board Member, Florida Society of Ambulatory Surgery Centers   
  • ANDREW SMITH; Senior Vice President of External Affairs, Surterra Wellness   
  • TIM STAPLETON; CEO, Florida Medical Association   
  • ROGER STEVENS; CEO, Westminster Communities of Florida   
  • MARY LYNN EDWARDS ULREY; CEO, DACCO Behavioral Health   
  • MIKE WATKINS; CEO, Big Bend Community Based Care  
  • Dr. ZACH ZACHARIAH; President, Fort Lauderdale Heart Institute

Comments are now closed.

Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.