SSN on Facebook
SSN on Twitter
SSN on YouTube
RSS Feed


Richard Corcoran to Head House Approach on Federal Health Care, Committee Chairs Announced

November 25, 2012 - 6:00pm

In line to be the House speaker in 2017, Rep. Richard Corcoran, R-Trinity, will head his chambers approach to the federal health care act.

Meanwhile the next designated speaker, to take the helm after the 2014 elections, Steve Crisafulli, R-Merritt Island, will head state affairs and is vice chair on the budget.

With the first committee meetings being held next week, House Speaker Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, released committee assignments on Monday.

For a full list of committee assignments go here.

The new assignments announced Monday included the following committee chairs:

Corcoran, Health and Human Services

Rep. Jimmy Patronis, R-Panama City, Economic Affairs

Rep. Marlene O'Toole, R-Lady Lake, Education

Rep. Dennis Baxley, R-Ocala, Judiciary

Rep. Doug Holder, R-Sarasota, Regulatory Affairs

Crisafulli, State Affairs

Eddie Gonzalez, R-Hialeah, Local and Federal Affairs.

Weatherford had previously announced that Robert Schenck, R-Spring Hill, would serve as Rules Committee chairman while Seth McKeel, R-Lakeland, would
head Appropriations.

With input from members, I have made committee and subcommittee assignments that align your talents and experience with the policy needs of our state, Weatherford stated in a memo to the membership.

Steve Precourt, R-Orlando, who advanced to House majority leader upon the election defeat of former Rep. Chris Dorworth, has seats on Appropriations.


Chair: Seth McKeel, R-Lakeland

Vice chair: Steve Crisafulli, R-Merritt Island.

Economic Affairs Committee

Chair: Jimmy Patronis, R-Panama City

Vice chair: Tom Goodson, R-Cocoa.

Education Committee

Chair: Marlene O'Toole, R-Lady Lake

Vice chair: Elizabeth Porter, R-Lake City.

Health and Human Services

Chair: Richard Corcoran, R-Trinity

Vice chair: Larry Ahern, R-St. Petersburg.


Chair: Dennis Baxley, R-Ocala

Vice chair: Kathleen Passidomo, R-Naples.

Local and Federal Affairs Committee

Chair: Eddie Gonzalez: R-Hialeah

Vice chair: Ray Pilon, R-Sarasota.

Regulatory Affairs Committee

Chair: Doug Holder, R-Sarasota

Vice chair: Pat Rooney, R-Palm Beach Gardens.

Rules Committee

Chair: Robert Schenck, R-Spring Hill

Vice chair: Frank Artiles, R-Miami.

State Affairs Committee

Chair: Steve Crisafulli, R-Merritt Island

Vice chair: James Grant, R-Tampa.

Reach Jim Turner at or at (772) 215-9889.

Comments are now closed.


Opinion Poll

Do you favor banning "bump stocks," attachments that enable a semiautomatic rifle to fire faster, and should those who possess them already turn them in?
Older pollsResults


Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.