SSN on Facebook
SSN on Twitter
SSN on YouTube
RSS Feed


Garrett Richter Named Senate Pro Tempore, Steve Precourt, Dana Young Advance in House

November 13, 2012 - 6:00pm

Sen. Garrett Richter, R-Naples, has been nominated for Senate president pro tempore by Florida Senate President-designate Don Gaetz, R-Niceville.

When economic policy is being developed and debated, we need the common-sense and entrepreneurial talent of a leader who signs the front side of paychecks, explained Gaetz in a release.

Thats Garrett Richter. He knows firsthand what its like to sit at the kitchen table and figure out how to meet the payroll on Friday. He has become a highly successful community banker because he knows how to build trust and compete to bring businesses and jobs to our state.

Richter, who has served four years as chairman of the Senate Banking and Insurance Committee, is Gaetzs first leadership appointment heading into the 2013 session.

The post is the second highest in the Legislature's upper chamber, basically a vice president helping to advance the president's agenda. The appointment must be approved by the Senate during the organization session Nov. 20.

Meanwhile, Rep. Steve Precourt, R-Orlando, has been named as the new House majority leader for the 2013-2014 legislative sessions, replacing Chris Dorworth who had previously been appointed to the leadership post by incoming House Speaker Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel.

Rep. Dana Young, R-Tampa, has been named as deputy majority leader and majority whip in the House.

Steves depth of experience in the public and private sector makes him uniquely qualified to serve as the lead advocate for the Florida House Majority Caucus, Weatherford stated in a release.

Over the next two years, Steve will be responsible for helping articulate the Republican message, and implementing a reform-focused agenda.

Dorworth, a Lake Mary Republican who was in line to be speaker after the 2014 election and was Weatherford's first option for majority leader in the next two sessions, was narrowly defeated by Democrat Mike Clelland.

Weatherford stated that Young has earned her colleagues respect, and I know she will continue to play an integral role in the House's future success.

The appointments further round out Weatherfords leadership team.

In October, Weatherford announced that Rep. Robert Schenck, R-Spring Hill, will serve as chairman of the House Rules Committee; Rep. Marti Coley, R-Marianna, has been selected as speaker pro-tempore; and Rep. Seth McKeel, R-Lakeland, will serve as chairman of the powerful Appropriations Committee.

Reach Jim Turner at or at (772) 215-9889.

Comments are now closed.


Opinion Poll

Do you favor banning "bump stocks," attachments that enable a semiautomatic rifle to fire faster, and should those who possess them already turn them in?
Older pollsResults


Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.