Chris, be careful when you call a story up. It should have a note shaded in green at the top that says you'vebeen locked in as the user. If it's red, someone else is in the story and get out of it as soon as you can. You could cause that person to lose all of his/her editing changes.
Always remember to hit "save" at the bottom once you've read the story.