SSN on Facebook SSN on Twitter SSN on YouTube RSS Feed

Oliva Rounds out Key Committee, Subcommittee Leaders

Though House Speaker Jose Oliva announced in November the chairs of his top committees, he waited until late Friday to introduce his subcommittee leaders and their assignments.

Jose Oliva
At the same time he tapped Rep. Bryan Avila, R-Miami Springs, to chair the Ways & Means Committee -- an assignment that came open earlier in the week when Gov.-elect Ron DeSantis chose his Ways and Means choice, Rep. Halsey Beshears, R-Monticello, to become secretary of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

All of the leaders on Oliva's list, 19 men and 5 women, are Republican. Here is the list:

  • Rep. Chuck Clemons, R-Newberry, will chair the Agriculture & Natural Resources Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Holly Raschein, R-Key Largo, will chair the Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Heather Fitzenhagen, R-Fort Myers, will chair the Business & Professions Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Mel Ponder, R-Destin, will chair the Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Bob Rommel, R-Naples, will chair the Civil Justice Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Jamie Grant, R-Tampa, will chair the Criminal Justice Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Charlie Stone, R-Ocala, will chair the Energy & Utilities Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. David Santiago, R-Deltona, will chair the Gaming Control Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Jayer Williamson, R-Pace, will chair the Government Operations & Technology Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. MaryLynn Magar, R-Tequesta, will chair the Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Cary Pigman, R-Avon Park, will chair the Health Market Reform Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Colleen Burton, R-Lakeland, will chair the Health Quality Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Cord Byrd, R-Neptune Beach, will chair the Higher Education & Career Readiness Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Randy Fine, R-Palm Bay, will chair the Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Cyndi Stevenson, R-Saint Johns, will chair the Insurance & Banking Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Clay Yarborough, R-Jacksonville, will chair the Justice Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Bobby Payne, R-Palatka, will chair the Local, Federal & Veterans Affairs Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Scott Plakon, R-Longwood, will chair the Oversight, Transparency & Public Management Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Chris Latvala, R-Clearwater, will chair the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Ralph Massullo, R-Lecanto, will chair the PreK-12 Innovation Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Byron Donalds, R-Naples, will chair the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Brad Drake, R-Eucheanna, will chair the Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Jay Trumbull, R-Panama City, will chair the Transportation & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee; 
  • Rep. Rene Plasencia, R-Orlando, will chair the Workforce Development & Tourism Subcommittee.

Here are the committee assignments by name of member; and here they are by name of committee

Comments are now closed.



Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.